Improving Life Through Science and Technology

Texas A&M AgriLife Research is the state’s premier research agency in agriculture, natural resources, and the life sciences. We conduct hundreds of projects spanning many scientific disciplines to deliver life-sustaining and industry-changing impacts to citizens throughout Texas and around the world.

A member of The Texas A&M University System, AgriLife Research collaborates with the Texas A&M University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, and many others to help fulfill the A&M System’s land-grant mission of teaching, research, extension, and service.

AgriLife Research

  • National Sheep Improvement Program can boost commercial, purebred producer profits
    Sep 30National Sheep Improvement Program can boost commercial, purebred producer profits

        Writer: Steve Byrns, 325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Reid Redden, 325-657-7324, reid.redden@ag.tamu.edu SAN ANGELO – Stud ram selection within most sheep breeds has pretty much been a case of “luck of the draw” for all but a handful of traits, said the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service state sheep and goat specialist. Dr. Reid […] The post National Sheep Improvement Program can boost commercial, purebred producer profits appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge
    Sep 23Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge

    Consumers would pay more for food and fiber Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, b-fannin@tamu.edu Contacts: Dr. Henry Bryant, 979-845-2116, h-bryant@tamu.edu Dr. Aleksandre Maisashvili, 979-845-2116, amaisashvili@email.tamu.edu Dr. Joe Outlaw, 979-845-5913, joutlaw@tamu.edu Dr. James Richardson, 979-845-5913, jwrichardson@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Proposed mergers by the world’s leading biotechnology firms would result in steep price increases farmers pay for cotton […] The post Proposed mergers by biotechnology firms could result in cotton seed price surge appeared first on AgriLife Today.

  • Are red imported fire ants all bad?
    Sep 21Are red imported fire ants all bad?

    Mostly, a Texas A&M-led team said, but not altogether Writer: Steve Byrns,  325-653-4576, s-byrns@tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Jessica Light, 979-458-4357, jlight2@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION — Red imported fire ants have earned a justifiably bad rap across the south and most Texans would be hard put to name a single redeeming quality the ants have. But a team […] The post Are red imported fire ants all bad? appeared first on AgriLife Today.